Is There Gluten in Ice Cream? 7 Gluten-Free Ice Cream Brands

is there gluten in ice creams

Who doesn’t enjoy a generous serving of rich, satisfying ice cream? What happens, though, if you eat nothing with gluten? Ice cream doesn’t contain gluten. And which flavors or brands are more likely to contain gluten? In this article, we’ll provide answers to these queries.

Depending on its ingredients and processing, ice cream may be gluten-free. Ice creams with a single popular flavor, like strawberry, vanilla, chocolate, or coffee, are frequently gluten-free. However, keep an eye out for any additional gluten-containing additives, starches, or flavorings.

Is There Gluten in Ice Cream?

Actually, it depends on what sorts of milk you use in making ice cream.

Gluten is not present in ice cream that is made with regular milk, cream, and sugar, but manufacturers sometimes include gluten-containing additives to boost flavor or stickiness and smooth out the surface of their products.

As a result, some ice cream brands may contain gluten while others do not. People with gluten allergies and celiac diseases can feel free to eat homemade ice cream from eggs, sugar, and milk. These ingredients are all gluten-free.

However, some commercial ice cream products have gluten in their components. Stabilizers and sweeteners are frequently used in the manufacturing process to improve the ice cream’s quality. These additives on the side may contain gluten.

Even if the ice cream doesn’t contain gluten, during the manufacturing process it might have come into contact with other foods that do. This phenomenon is called food cross-contamination. For instance, ice cream might be served alongside cakes made with wheat flour, which contains gluten, in bakeries or eateries.

How to Know If Your Ice Cream Contains Gluten?

If you purchase commercial ice cream products at the grocery stores or the supermarket, always check the printed ingredients label on the cover. There will be a list of all the ingredients, including any additives that contain gluten.

However, the manufacturer may not list gluten-containing components on the label for some reason. Buying ice cream that is marked gluten-free is a safer option. Brands produce gluten-free goods specifically for this market because they are aware that consumers want to avoid additives that contain gluten.

is there gluten in ice creams

When purchasing ice cream from a vendor or dessert shop, be sure to inquire about the use of any gluten-containing additives. Be cautious of products that have flavors like crispy chocolate candies or cookies as these flavors require the use of gluten-containing ingredients.

Common Sources of Gluten in Ice Cream

A food manufacturer might put gluten in ice cream for a variety of reasons. The product is frequently unsafe for those who follow a gluten-free diet because the ingredients used to give the ice cream its taste or texture may contain gluten. These are typical ice cream gluten sources.

Thicken Or Sweetening Agents

Some ice cream manufacturers use barley malt syrup or wheat flour to thicken and sweeten their frozen treat. To make sure that your choice of ice cream doesn’t contain these ingredients, it is essential to read the ingredient label.

Cross Contamination

Ice cream may have been processed in a facility with other foods that contain gluten even if it wasn’t made with gluten. Cross-contamination is now a possibility, which is a worry for people with celiac disease or severe gluten intolerances.

Flavors and Additives

The ingredients used to give ice cream its various flavors are a more obvious source of gluten. Gluten will also be present in the ice cream if the flavor features a common gluten-containing food, such as cookies. This might include flavors like chocolate chip cookie dough, Oreo, fudge, or birthday cake.

Only choose flavors like these if the product is labeled “certified gluten-free.” Check the label again to make sure there are no gluten-containing ingredients.

Gluten-Free Ice Cream Brands

Here’s a list of major ice cream manufacturers, their gluten disclosure policies, and a sampling of their gluten-free flavors:

Ben & Jerry’s

A list of flavors that are gluten-free is not available for this famous Vermont chain. Instead, Ben & Jerry’s will note on the product label any ingredients that contain wheat, flour, barley, oats, rye, or malt. To ensure that all ingredients are accurate, the company collaborates with its suppliers, including those who provide the packaging.

Blue Bell

Blue Bell has some flavors it considers “gluten-free” (to less than 20 parts per million of gluten), including Banana Split Sundae, Moo-llennium Crunch, Buttered Pecan, Natural Vanilla Bean, Strawberry, Dutch Chocolate, Pecan Pralines ‘n Cream, The Great Divide, Homemade Vanilla, Rocky Road, Ultimate Neapolitan, No-Sugar-Added Country Vanilla, and Mint Chocolate Chip. Four of its sherbet flavors also are listed as “gluten-free”: Rainbow, Pineapple, Orange, Lime, and Orange.

is there gluten in ice creams

Breyer’s Ice Cream

Breyer’s labels 37 of its flavors “gluten-free.” Along with two gelato flavors (Salted Caramel Truffle and Chocolate Fudge Truffle), this includes many of the most well-known Breyers flavors, including Natural Vanilla, Chocolate, Cherry Vanilla and Butter Pecan, and Chocolate Peanut Butter.

Breyers tests the gluten-free products it labels to make sure they fall below the U.S.-established limit of 20 parts per million of gluten. Health and Drug Administration

Dove Ice Cream

Almost all Dove ice cream flavors are thought to be gluten-free; the lone exception is Vanilla with Fudge Brownies. Dove is a division of Mars Chocolate, which will disclose any ingredients containing gluten or potential for cross-contamination. They also produce candy that is gluten-free.

Dreyer’s/Edy’s Ice Cream

The two brands, which sell the same products, do not label any flavors “gluten-free,” but say they will disclose all gluten-containing ingredients on the label. According to the company: “The added bakery items like cookies, cake, or brownies are usually where the gluten in our frozen dessert products comes from. But a few Edy’s flavors contain gluten from sources other than baked goods.”


Many of Häagen-Dazs’ ice cream products are labeled “gluten-free.” According to the company: “Generally speaking, the only added bakery items like cookies, cake, or brownies that are present in our frozen dessert products contain gluten.”

The obvious conclusion is that you should avoid those. The company lists a number of flavors that are safe (to 20 parts per million), in addition to more traditional options like chocolate and vanilla, such as crème brûlée, pineapple coconut, pistachio, and white chocolate raspberry truffle.

So Delicious

The dairy-free, gluten-free ice cream flavors from So Delicious have received this certification. This company even offers gluten-free versions of popular ice cream flavors like cookies ‘n cream and cookie dough. Ice cream pints and ice cream bars are both available for purchase.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.